A Ventography!

Just two moms letting off some steam

RANDOM ACTS OF KINDNESS

Leave a comment

Never doubt that a small group of dedicated people could change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has.
-Margaret Mead

One morning I woke up to an email with Brody’s name in the subject line. “This is not good,” I thought to myself. 

The school year had just begun and I immediately assumed it was a parent complaining about having “my child” in the classroom. 

How wrong I was. This is what the email said.
“I am Nathan C’s mom. Nathan is friends with Brody at school.  Over the summer I emphasized to Nathan that everyone is an individual and different, and that we all need to appreciate each other for our differences. I told him that if everyone in the world was the same it would be boring. Little did I know Nathan would meet Brody in Kindergarten. Nathan does not know anyone else with Autism. He truly loves being Brody’s friend.  I know very little about Autism, but Brody has encouraged us to learn more. As I was doing some research online to help explain Autism to Nathan I found an Autism Speaks walk.  I talked to Nathan and he would like to walk for Brody and raise money in his name for Autism Speaks.  We thought we could call our team of 3, “Brody’s Friends.”  I wanted to ask your permission before I signed up, since we would be referencing Brody as our reason to walk and requesting donations for Autism Speaks in his name. Since we would be entering with only a month to raise funds, I’m not sure how much money we will get, but we are excited to try for $500.00 or more! Please let me know if you are ok with this.  If you are not, we will not register and we will not reference Brody.  No questions asked.”

Unbelievable! Amazing and caring human beings still exist. And by the way, Nathan and his mom ended up raising almost $1,500! 
Author: A Ventography!

A Ventography is about: 1. Encouraging and empathizing with other parents on the autism spectrum. 2. Recycling and simplifying information on the latest autism news and health and diet tips. 3. Asking thought provoking questions designed to make us rethink what we've been told about autism. 4. Helping connect the dots that show, in some cases, autism is more than a brain disorder. 5. Challenging parents to rethink what they've been told, refuse the status quo, and escape the whirlwind of confusion.

Leave a Reply

