A Ventography!

Just two moms letting off some steam

KING AND QUEEN OF DENIAL

Leave a comment

Life is a long lesson in humility.

-James M. Barrie

Tom and I really started feeling the financial pinch of autism when Brody was six. That year we had taken some major financial hits and had to tighten the purse strings in our household.

One Saturday, I boldly gave Tom the task of picking up two containers of enzymes. After walking out of the store close to $60 poorer, Tom for the first time questioned the amount of money we were spending on supplements. I knew we were spending a lot, and was extremely frightened at the prospect of having to tally up the dollar amount for what I considered “must haves.”

Budgeting supplements was not something I was ready to embrace or handle. Dollar denial was easier and more comfortable. But I knew deep down it had to be done.

I looked into his eyes, and begged subconsciously not to make me get out a calculator and put numbers on paper. He would probably succumb to a heart attack and I would be left a very poor widow with a lot of baggage. Not a good scenario for my children, or a potential dating future.

I suspect he was as fearful as I was and declined pushing me. He knew deep in his soul he didn’t really want to know exact figures either. The King and Queen of Denial were still reigning supreme!

I dread the day there is a coup and we are dethroned.

Author: A Ventography!

A Ventography is about: 1. Encouraging and empathizing with other parents on the autism spectrum. 2. Recycling and simplifying information on the latest autism news and health and diet tips. 3. Asking thought provoking questions designed to make us rethink what we've been told about autism. 4. Helping connect the dots that show, in some cases, autism is more than a brain disorder. 5. Challenging parents to rethink what they've been told, refuse the status quo, and escape the whirlwind of confusion.

Leave a Reply

