A Ventography!

Just two moms letting off some steam

SUPERNANNY OUTED MY DAUGHTER’S AUTISM

2 Comments

ANNIE’S STORY – PART ONE OF TWELVE

My husband was out-of-town, Annie was zonked out for the night, and I was too restless to fall asleep. Annie had been really sick for the last four months. I had developed insomnia because I spent my nights battling a nagging feeling that “something wasn’t right” with Annie.

I turned on Supernanny in order to veg out and calm my racing mind. Little did I know, that Supernanny episode would mark the last time I was able to take a deep breath for the next four years.

The episode was about a family who had a son with autism. They didn’t show many clips of the little boy. Instead, the importance of routines, schedules, and rewards/consequences were emphasized. At the end of the show, a warning flashed on the screen.

Autism is rising at alarming rate.
Early intervention is key.

The 3 main signs of autism are:

  • Delays/deficits in communication
  • Delays/deficits in social skills
  • Repetitive behaviors or movements.

“Hmmm – Annie met all 3 of those criteria but she doesn’t have autism,” I thought to myself. I studied autism in college and Annie did not fit the definition I remembered.

But that voice in my head wouldn’t let me go to sleep. My computer was calling my name. I got up and googled the word autism. The more I read, the more I realized maybe I had stumbled on the reason for Annie’s recent and dramatic change in behavior and personality.

Was autism the reason she stopped speaking to us? Was autism the reason she could stack toys on her Chicken Elmo doll or take crayons in and out of the box for hours on end? Was autism the reason why she had changed from being the child in the center of the action at the playground to having a melt down at the mere suggestion of going to the park?

I had to know more. I took every autism quiz I could get my hands on. As I realized that Annie exhibited almost every symptom of autism, I’m pretty sure I had an “out-of-body experience.” All the blood drained to my feet. I felt like I floated out of my body and was watching a shell of my former self madly typing away on the computer.

It was now two in the morning and there was nobody I could call. Should I wake my husband and ruin his business trip? Should I scare my mom to death by calling in the middle of the night? I decided to suffer alone. It was the longest night of my life. I shed many, many tears. I knew this was the start of my new life. Nothing would ever be the same again.

For Part 2 of Annie’s Story:  https://ventography.wordpress.com/2012/02/08/the-prequel/

Author: A Ventography!

A Ventography is about: 1. Encouraging and empathizing with other parents on the autism spectrum. 2. Recycling and simplifying information on the latest autism news and health and diet tips. 3. Asking thought provoking questions designed to make us rethink what we've been told about autism. 4. Helping connect the dots that show, in some cases, autism is more than a brain disorder. 5. Challenging parents to rethink what they've been told, refuse the status quo, and escape the whirlwind of confusion.

2 thoughts on “SUPERNANNY OUTED MY DAUGHTER’S AUTISM

  1. Did you ever talk with someone, a professional like you daughter’s doctor, or another mum about her behaviour before you saw the show?

    Like

    • Thanks for your inquiry. I did not talk with anyone about my daughter’s health issues or behavior until after I saw the Super Nanny episode. I tend to be a very private person and also, I was in denial… I was hoping that my daughter’s symptoms would go away as quickly as they came. But after I saw the show, I spent many hours researching autism and I knew I had to do something to help her. That’s when I started reaching out to others to learn how they helped their children with autism. Hope that answers your question. Happy New Year! Molly

      Like

Leave a Reply

