A Ventography!

Just two moms letting off some steam

TICK TOCK GOES THE AUTISM CLOCK

8 Comments

ANNIE’S STORY – PART NINE OF TWELVE

I spent Annie’s fourth year of life basically banging my head against a brick wall. In an effort to recover her, I tried anything and everything I felt was safe. But everything I tried led to one step forward and two steps back. I was tired of the emotional roller coaster. I was battered, bruised, and running on pure adrenaline.

I felt more pressure than ever because she was fast approaching her fifth birthday. In every recovery story I had read, the child had recovered by the time he/she was five. I felt like a noose was tightening around my neck. I felt I was running out of time. I truly feared that if I didn’t help her recover by the time she was five, it was all over for us. That clock, ticking over my head, got louder and louder. It was all I could hear and focus on some days… TICK. TOCK. TICK. TOCK. It was deafening.

But then I got a call from a DAN! doctor that had a two year waiting list. I had finally earned my spot. Immediately, I made an appointment so that I could seek a second opinion.

The new doctor told me that Annie had severe metabolic acidosis which was likely leading to her aggression and tantrums. She told me that Annie literally felt like her gut was being burned by acid all day and all night. I probably wouldn’t have been so pleasant either if I felt like my insides were on fire! I felt so badly that I didn’t realize this sooner, like I had let Annie down. I figured some prescription drug would be needed to solve the problem, but was blown away when the doctor told me the cure. She told me to put 1/4 teaspoon of aluminum free baking soda in 8 ounces of water and have Annie sip on it all day. The baking soda would neutralize the acid in Annie’s system. You could have knocked me over with a feather. Almost immediately, the baking soda lessened her tantrums and aggression. It wasn’t gone, but it was so much better.

The doctor also told me about a new way to rid the body of metals and toxins, without the possible dangers and side effects of chelation. It was called OSR #1 and it was classified as an antioxidant. I was so excited. She told me I had to wait a few months to try it so that Annie had time to recover from the metabolic acidosis.

Fast forward a few months and lab tests revealed Annie was finally healthy enough to begin OSR. We started with just a tiny sprinkle. Within one month, Annie went from only speaking one  or two words at a time (unprompted) to speaking in sentences much of the time. For example, prior to OSR, Annie would say “Daddy basketball” if she wanted to play basketball. After OSR, she said, “Daddy, I want to play basketball with you.”

We were afraid to get our hopes up, but OSR really seemed to be working miracles. The doctor told us to gradually start increasing the amount of OSR to work up to a whole capsule. I said to myself. “This is it! This was going to be the magic bullet and Annie would be recovered by the all important fifth birthday.” I was riding high.

Once Annie was on half a capsule of OSR, she broke out in hives. The hives were all over her body – in her scalp, between her toes, EVERYWHERE! She itched so badly that she made herself bleed. She was covered in scabs. She couldn’t eat or sleep. She stopped talking and became extremely aggressive, once again. She looked at me with a look I will never forget. Her eyes seemed to be saying, “Mommy – why aren’t you helping me?” It broke my heart.

The doctor said she must have an allergy to sulfur (OSR was sulfur based). They had seen this reaction in a few other children, although it was extremely rare. She told me to stop the OSR all together for a month. It took the whole month for the hives to disappear. And even once they were gone, Annie had purple scars all over her body from the scabs.

I was terrified to re-start the OSR. The doctor told me to give her just a sprinkle, like we had done in the beginning, and said that she’d have to remain on that dose indefinitely. She assured me that some children simply didn’t need a whole capsule to detox, but I had my doubts. I started her back on the sprinkle. Her hives did not return, but luckily her language did. She was back to speaking in sentences most of the time.

Even though her language and tantrums were better, Annie was far from being recovered.

And then it happened… her fifth birthday hit. I was emotionally unprepared for what came next.

To be continued…

For parts 1-8 of Annie’s story, https://ventography.wordpress.com/category/annies-story/

For more on the Biomedical Treatment approach to autism, http://www.healthinducedautism.com/biomedical.html

Author: A Ventography!

A Ventography is about: 1. Encouraging and empathizing with other parents on the autism spectrum. 2. Recycling and simplifying information on the latest autism news and health and diet tips. 3. Asking thought provoking questions designed to make us rethink what we've been told about autism. 4. Helping connect the dots that show, in some cases, autism is more than a brain disorder. 5. Challenging parents to rethink what they've been told, refuse the status quo, and escape the whirlwind of confusion.

8 thoughts on “TICK TOCK GOES THE AUTISM CLOCK

  1. THANK YOU for posting this bit…. Kind of a long story…. but I have been looking for something to help with a metabolic issue, will start stepson on the baking soda, and see how it helps…. thank you again

    Like

    • I hope it helps your stepson! I was hoping someone would need that little piece of advice when I wrote the post. Such a simple (not risky) fix for a nasty problem. -Molly

      Like

  2. I am on the end of my seat here, and I wish I were reading a book so I could cheat and look at the final chapter! Keep the stories coming.
    tears again from an old friend.
    🙂

    Like

  3. Wow…I can’t believe it keeps going. I’m hoping for your happy ending soon. Great post. I definitely felt what you were going through. –Joy

    Like

    • I know – our story seems to go on forever. But I wanted to make sure people realized how many times I failed before stumbling upon the interventions that ended up helping my daughter. I only have 3 more posts, and I promise, there is a happy ending. 🙂 I hope you have a great weekend! -Molly

      Like

  4. My son was home two weeks with rash from sulfur based medication. ER, doctors, shots, very scary. I had hives when I was detoxing. I think from Oregano oil. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    • You know what I’m talking about then! I am so sorry you went through such as scary time with your son and that you suffered hives personally. When I wrote this post, I felt like hives didn’t adequately describe what Annie went through. People think hives – no big deal. But this was so awful for her. And the first day or two after this happened, they told me to sleep with her to make sure she kept breathing. Of course neither one of us were sleeping but it scared me to death. Hope you have a wonderful weekend! -Molly

      Like

Leave a Reply

